Zenna – Thailand

Partners

ZENNA AG, Murg
www.zenna.ch
Roland Schlegel

Project Type:

Pilot project

Technology:

Energy efficiency

Country:

Thailand

Project Status:

Ongoing

Project Start:

2018

End of Project:

2023

Contract:

2019.02

Documentation

Swiss Contribution

ZENNA is a photovoltaic systems consulting firm with over 10 years of experience. A solar boat will be built and tested in collaboration with experts from the Zurich University of Applied Sciences ZHAW, Wolf Shipyard (boat builder) and the Walenstadt Water and Electricity Utility (WEW). Furthermore, ZENNA will be supported locally by AERO Solar and Cutting Edge.

Description

There are thousands of traditional long-tail boats on Thailand’s waterways which are powered by old, polluting truck or car engines. This project’s aim is to provide the proof of concept for the operation of a solar-powered longtail boat, based on a traditionally constructed boat hull. In addition to its technical suitability, the boat’s economic operation shall also be demonstrated and a locally adapted financing and operating model shall be developed.

Results

The e-boat was planned and built in cooperation with the various partners of the project. The aim was to build a robust and cost-optimised boat to ensure reliable and economically viable operation. After several successful functional tests and cruises, the e-boat was presented to relevant stakeholders and decision-makers with the support of the Swiss embassy. Representatives from Bangkok, where smog pollution is very high, showed great interest.

Zenna – Thailand

Partner

ZENNA AG, Murg
www.zenna.ch
Roland Schlegel

Projektart:

Pilotprojekt

Technologie:

Energieeffizienz

Land:

Thailand

Projektstatus:

Laufend

Projektstart:

2018

Projektende:

2023

Vertrag:

2019.02

Dokumentation

Schweizer Beitrag

ZENNA ist ein auf Photovoltaik spezialisiertes Beratungsunternehmen mit über 10 Jahren Erfahrung. In Zusammenarbeit mit Experten der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften ZHAW, der Bootswerft Wolf und dem Wasser- und Elektrizitätswerk Walenstadt WEW soll ein Solarboot realisiert und getestet werden. Zusätzlich wird ZENNA bei diesem Projekt lokal von AERO Solar und von Cutting Edge unterstützt.

Portrait

In Thailand sind auf den Wasserwegen mehrere Tausend traditionelle Longtailboote unterwegs, die mit alten umweltschädlichen Lastwagen- oder Automotoren angetrieben werden. Mit diesem Projekt soll der Proof of Concept für den Betrieb eines solar betriebenen Longtailboots mit einem traditionellen Bootsrumpf erbracht werden. Neben der technischen Tauglichkeit soll der wirtschaftliche Betrieb aufgezeigt, und ein lokal angepasstes Finanzierungs- und Betriebsmodell erarbeitet werden.

Resultate

In Zusammenarbeit mit den verschiedenen Partnern wurde das E-Boote geplant und gebaut. Ziel war der Bau eines robusten und kostenoptimierten Boots in Hinblick auf einen zuverlässigen und wirtschaftlichen Betrieb. Die verschiedenen Funktionstests und Fahrten verliefen erfolgreich, und das E-Boot konnte u.a. mit Unterstützung der Schweizer Botschaft relevanten Akteuren und Entscheidungsträgern vorgestellt werden. Grosses Interesse zeigten Vertreter aus Bangkok, wo die Smogbelastung sehr hoch ist.