connecting spaces – Nepal

Partners

connecting spaces
www.monikaschaffner.biz
Monika Schaffner;

myclimate Foundation
www.myclimate.org
Martin Lehmann

Project Type:

Pilot project

Technology:

Diverse

Country:

Nepal

Project Status:

Completed

Project Start:

2018

End of Project:

2021

Contract:

2018.15

Swiss Contribution

Connecting spaces has long-term experience in managing and coordinating projects in the field of environmental policy and sustainable development in Switzerland and Nepal. Having spent a significant amount of her time in both countries, Monika Schaffner connects between the cultures and builds on a wide professional and personal, international and local network in the field of sustainable development. Myclimate is a partner for effective climate protection – both locally and globally. The Swiss Non-Profit organisation wants to shape the future together with its partners through consultation, education and climate protection projects.

Description

The project will design and implement the infrastructure foundation, i.e. the “hardware”, of a holistic and economically self-dependent eco-tourism business model in four selected villages of Madi Municipality. In each village, in close collaboration with the Women Groups of the local communities, two eco-tourism homestays will be constructed which includes climate-efficient buildings using local materials, smart off-grid solar energy systems, safe drinking water supply systems and smart waste management schemes.

Results

Following formalization of the necessary agreement with all relevant stakeholders, various workshops were held, life cycle analyses (LCAs) were prepared and the buildings and technical facilities were planned, based on the results. Throughout the project’s duration, it became clear that the work had to be more focussed for the concept’s successful completion. Most of the planned infrastructure comprised of a guest house, community hall, drinking water supply and waste concept has been realised in the village of Bankatta.  Two other villages have received all implementation documents. The project team has built up a broad network for the project concept’s multiplication.

Impacts

A total of 100 people were trained for this sustainable tourism concept’s realisation and operation, within the project’s framework. In the event of a permanent operation, about 20 new jobs will be created in the village of Bankatta.  The project is strongly affected by the COVID-19 situation.  The use of this particular offer and the concept’s multiplication is greatly dependent on the pandemic’s worldwide development.

connecting spaces – Nepal

Partner

connecting spaces, Hilterfingen
www.monikaschaffner.biz
Monika Schaffner;

myclimate Foundation, Zürich
www.myclimate.org
Martin Lehmann

Projektart:

Pilotprojekt

Technologie:

Diverse

Land:

Nepal

Projektstatus:

Abgeschlossen

Projektstart:

2018

Projektende:

2021

Vertrag:

2018.15

Schweizer Beitrag

Connecting spaces verfügt über langjährige Erfahrungen im Management und der Koordination von Projekten in den Bereichen Umweltpolitik und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Nepal und der Schweiz. Monika Schaffner hat lange Zeit in beiden Ländern verbracht, schlägt eine Brücke zwischen den Kulturen und stützt sich auf ein breites professionelles wie auch personelles internationales und lokales Netzwerk für nachhaltige Entwicklung ab. Myclimate ist Partner für wirksamen Klimaschutz – global und lokal. Gemeinsam mit Partnern aus der Wirtschaft sowie mit Privatpersonen will myclimate durch Beratungs- und Bildungsangebote sowie eigene Projekte die Zukunft der Welt gestalten.

Portrait

Im Verlauf des Projekts werden Design und Bau der Infrastruktur, bzw. der Hardware für ein ganzheitliches und wirtschaftlich selbsttragendes Ökotourismuskonzept in vier ausgewählten Dörfern auf dem Madi-Gemeindegebiet realisiert. In jedem Dorf werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Frauengruppen und mit lokalen Baumaterialien je zwei energieeffiziente Gasthäuser gebaut, die über eigene Solarenergie und eine sichere Trinkwasserversorgung verfügen. Zusätzlich wird ein Abfallentsorgungs- und Recyclingsystem eingeführt.

Resultate

Nach Formalisierung der notwendigen Vereinbarungen mit allen relevanten Akteuren wurden verschiedene Workshops durchgeführt, Life Cycle Analysen (LCA) erstellt und die Bauten und die technischen Anlagen anhand der Resultate geplant. Im Projektverlauf stellte sich heraus, dass die Arbeiten für eine erfolgreiche Realisierung fokussiert werden müssen. Im Dorf Bankatta wurde der grösste Teil der geplanten Infrastruktur mit Gästehaus, Gemeindesaal, Trinkwasserversorgung und Abfallkonzept realisiert. Zwei weitere Dörfer haben alle Umsetzungsunterlagen erhalten. Das Projektteam hat ein breites Netzwerk für die Multiplikation des Konzepts aufgebaut.

Wirkung

Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden insgesamt 100 Personen für die Realisierung und Betrieb dieses nachhaltigen Tourismuskonzepts geschult. Im Falle eines dauerhaften Betriebs würden im Dorf Bankatta ca. neue 20 Stellen geschaffen. Das Projekt ist stark von der COVID Situation betroffen. Die Nutzung des Angebots und die Multiplikation des Konzepts ist stark von der weltweiten Entwicklung der Pandemie abhängig.